10 Films

The-Thin-Red-Line
The Thin Red Line (Terrence Malick, 1998)

I’m probably never going to write full reviews of these films because I don’t think I can put into words how great they are. But this will give me an opportunity to at least, briefly, make my case. I chose these 10 movies as my all-time top 10 for a specific reason. Just like when you pick your top 10 basketball or football players, you have certain criteria that is inherent in your decision-making. With cinema, it gets a little more difficult because there are no statistics that can back up a claim, and the numbers of box-office revenue and awards is rather arbitrary and superficial anyway. Thus, it has to be a personal statement.

Many of you know how much of a stickler I am, and my rating system is very rigorous (I do ratings on IMDb, not on here). I hardly ever give a movie a 10/10 score, but this list consists of movies I felt the need to give an undisputed 10/10 because anything below that just wouldn’t do. These films are masterpieces. For more than just the reason of being great cinema, these movies by the years made me fall in love with this art over any other (literature, painting, sculpting, music etc.). As Apichatphong Weerasethakul so brilliantly said “these are my 10 ghosts”. They will follow me and haunt me until my last breath.

These films are not ranked. It wouldn’t be fair to rank them because they’re just as incredible as each other, thus this list is in alphabetical order. So you’ve heard me complain with my reviews about this or that of a particular film, here are 10 films of which I have absolutely nothing critical to say and no flaw to point out, they are just that great. (of course, I recommend all of you watch these or at least look them up on Google)

2001: A Space Odyssey / dir. Stanley Kubrick (1968)

Akira / dir. Katsuhiro Otomo (1988)

The Circus / dir. Charles Chaplin (1928)

High & Low dir. Akira Kurosawa (1963)

Hoop Dreams dir. Steven James (1994)

Jurassic Park / dir. Steven Spielberg (1993)

The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King / dir. Peter Jackson (2003)

Taxi Driver / dir. Martin Scorsese (1976)

The Thin Red Line / dir. Terrence Malick (1998)

Valerie and Her Week of Wonders / dir. Jaromil Jires (1970)

Leave a Reply

